4 books down, only 96 to go

I had been making slow progress with my reading, as my boyfriend pointed out I should be reading around 8 books a month to make my goal. I was in a bit of a panic after week two, I was back at work, back at uni and I was trying to sort out myself into a simple routine. Which I have nailed down now ! You might have seen my instagram post, showing my new daily planner. This has been super helpful in managing my time and creating weekly goals.

But now I’m ready to share my progress and mini reviews of the books I’ve read so far.

coverThe Sun Is Also a Star – Nicola Yoon

This was the first book I read in the new year. I fell in love with Nicola Yoon’s books after I dazed through Everything Everything. Nicola Yoon writes about interracial couples and I love it! When I read YA books I usually picture the protagonist being a white american female, and of course I can relate but it’s nice to imagine someone a little bit closer to me. The book debates fate, science  and of course true love The characters could use more depth and rounding out but I guess we only see a snapshot of their lives.

US – David Nicholls6a0105368f4fef970b01a3fd4185be970b

David Nicholls is the author of one of my favorite books One Day. Which, I personally feel is one the greatest and saddest love stories. I wasn’t sure what to expect from Us, would it be this great romancing or perhaps a sad tale of separation. What is was instead was something much more realistic and human. Sometimes separation isn’t so clear or always permanent and this book address that in a less fantasized way. The hopeless romantic in me wanted a fairytale happy ending but was content with the final product.

8f4e2d9196babe3781cdbbdf0e75ec89The Handmaid’s Tale – Margaret Atwood

I have been trying to branch out with my reading and came across this whilst looking for upcoming TV shows (I’ll be writing a post on this too!). The book is set in a dystopian America, which is a mix between Amish and the 18th century. By this I mean women have almost no rights and are mostly used for baby making.  I like the narrative but always felt like there was a lot of information missing. Hopefully this will be addressed in the TV show.

We Were On a Break – Lindsey Kelk9780007582419

This is a nice light book. The kind you would take on holiday to read in the sun. I enjoy reading Lindsey Kelk especially the I heart series but this didn’t quite grip you in the same way.  It was well written but definitely won’t be winning any awards any time soon.

Leave a Reply

