Bedrooms are sacred

It’s been around 3 weeks since I’ve been at uni and one thing I have come to value almost 10 times as much as when I was at home is my bedroom. Yes I’m not longer in the same physical room as I was at home but the term bedroom I feel takes on more than just a physical space. It’s the place you take shelter and cover from awkward social encounters, long working days, the place that you fill with your charm, personality, habits and  especially memories.

Sometimes I’d consider myself to be quite the extrovert but then a lot of the time, I’m happiest and most content when I’m just in my room catching up on shows or just thinking. I feel like now that I don’t have the pressure of needing to check up on family members days or having family meals I just use my room as my everything. There’s pieces of home(pictures hanging on a string and little keepsakes from the past) lots of motivational posters and notes and even a little box of food (seriously if a zombie apocalypse came I’d be good for a couple of weeks). Because of this I feel less and less of a need to be sociable with my flatmates and even when I try I just cant seem to find anything I want to say.

I know this is the time to be making new friends and having nightouts discovering the city but I don’t really think I’ve met anyone that makes me want to be a part of that with them, without having to put in enormous amounts of effort. So until then I think me and my room can be the best of friends

Leave a comment